IREX
EN

Manage users and user groups

Users, groups, resources, and roles

IREX users are structured by user groups. All members of a group have the same access rights to a kind of system resource — cameras and extra resources (database lists, locations, etc). The same user may belong to multiple groups.

Document image

With an architecture like this, the system implements access control principles of CJIS and GDPR.

However, users within a group may differ by their roles — named collections of accessible system functionalities.

Roles versus permissions matrix

A user can only be added to a group with a role assigned. A role is a named collection of available functionalities, described in full detail in the matrix below.


VIEWER
MEMBER
OPERATOR
GROUP MANAGER
CAMERA MANAGER
SYSTEM MANAGER
USER GROUPS
View



Manage resources





Manage subgroups






Manage all
USERS
View




Manage lower roles






Manage all
LOCATIONS
View
CAMERAS AND EVENTS
View
Playback
Download
Share
Search


Control PTZ





Manage cameras and video analytics
VENUES
View




Manage
WATCHLISTS
View



Manage
ALARM MONITORS
View


Manage
ROAD OBJECTS
View road object and violation events




Manage road objects and set up rules
LAYOUTS
Manage





SETTINGS
Own profile
Language
Theme






Manage
LOG



View
EDGE SERVERS





Manage

Manage system users

View existing user list

Select the User Menu — Users to view a consolidated list of all existing Platform users at the organization, no matter what user groups they belong to.

Users list with the options menu open for a user, showing Disable, Cancel schedule, and Edit commands

Adding a new system user

New system users can only be added to a group, after which they appear on the consolidated list too.

Edit user's details

To enter/ edit details of a user, click Edit in the three-dot menu as shown above, then complete/ edit the user's details form that opens.

User details form, Main tab, with First name, Last name, Middle name fields and Remove User, Reset, and Save buttons

Manage user access

The Admin can temporarily deny login of a user (make him or her “disabled” in terms of this manual). The current user's status is shown on the consolidated list as “Enabled” or “Disabled”. To do so:

  1. Click Disable in the three-dot menu.
  2. In the window that opens ...
  3. Disable window with Disable from date and Restore enabled after date checkboxes and their date fields

    ... do:

    Click Apply to disable the user right away. The user can be re-enabled later this way.
    Checkmark Disable from date and enter the disabling date to schedule the disabling, then click Apply.
    Checkmark Restore enabled after date and enter the restore date to automatically make the user re-enabled after this date, then click Apply.

To re-enable a disabled user:

  1. Click Enable in the three-dot menu.
  2. In the window that opens ...
  3. Enable window with the Enable from date checkbox and its enabling date field

    ... do:

    Click Apply to enable the user right away.
    Checkmark Enable from date and enter the enabling date to schedule the enabling, then click Apply.

Cancel scheduled enabling/ disabling

To cancel scheduled enabling/ disabling of a user, click Cancel schedule in the three-dot menu, then confirm the operation.

Manage user groups

User group catalog

Select the User Menu — User groups to open the screen holding existing user groups in the form of a hierarchical catalog under the root node on top.

Hierarchical user group catalog under default_root, with the options menu open on a subgroup showing Rename, Create subgroup, and Delete

Create, delete, rename a user group

To create a user group, click Create subgroup in the three-dot menu ...

User group options menu with Rename, Create Subgroup, and Delete commands

... to enter the new group's name in the window that opens, and click the Create.

Create Subgroup dialog with a required Name field and Cancel and Create buttons

Then add users to the newly created group.

To rename a group, click the Rename in the same menu.

To delete a group, click the Delete in the same menu. However:

  • A group cannot be deleted if it has a resource (camera, venue, person or vehicle list, etc.) assigned. Then unassign that resource from the group e.g. this way.
  • A group cannot be deleted if it has child subgroups. Then delete those from the bottom up the hierarchy. 
  • A non-empty group cannot be deleted this way; remove all its members first.

Manage members of a group

Click as shown to open the <Group_name> screen.

User group screen showing its Users tab with a list of members and their roles

Add a member to a group

To add an already existing system user to a group that he or she is not a member of yet:

  1. Click the “+” in the top-right corner of the screen to open the Add Users to the User Group form holding the consolidated list of IREX users that do not belong to the group yet.
  2. Add Users to the User Group form listing existing system users with a role selector for each, and a search field
  3. Find the user to add to the list and checkmark. If the list is too long, use the search by name/email tool.
  4. Repeat step 2 to add as many new members as needed.
  5. Select a role, the same for all the new members, on the list at the right.
  6. Click Add in the bottom-right corner.

Multiple new members can be added all in the same role at a time, e.g., using a common email domain (e.g. “gatling.com”). To do so:

  1. Enter “gatling.com” into the search text box and click Search.
  2. Add Users to the User Group form filtered by the gatling.com domain, with all matching users checked and Selected: 100 of 100 highlighted
  3. Tick the multi-select checkbox as shown.
  4. Select a role, the same for all the new users, on the list at the right.
  5. Click Add in the bottom-right corner

To add a completely new member (the one missing on the consolidated system user list), click as shown to complete the fields on the Create user form that opens.

User group Users tab with the add-user icon highlighted and the Create User form open showing Email, Password, and Role fields

Then find the new user on the consolidated list and complete the new user details form.

Edit a member of a group

To edit personal data, role, etc., of a member of a group, click Edit as shown and enter new values into the Edit user form that opens.

User group Users list with the options menu open for a member, showing Disable, Edit, and Remove from the User Group commands

To apply a managing function (such as disable, change role, etc.) to multiple users in batch mode, checkmark those users on the list as shown and then click the function under Options.

User group Users list with two members checked and the Options menu open showing Enable, Disable, Cancel schedule, Change Role, and Remove from the User Group

Remove a member from a group

To remove a user from a group, checkmark him or her on the list and click the “Bin” icon on the right.

Create System manager account

A user in a “System manager” role can only be added in a somewhat different manner. To do so:

  1. On the User Menu — User groups screen, click the root node as shown.
  2. User groups page with the default_root root node highlighted
  3. Follow the same procedure, selecting the “System manager” role on the lists where relevant.
  4. Invite new users list and Invite user form, both with the System manager role selected in the role drop-down